Skip to content

Scholar Highlights for Week Ending March 9, 2012

March 12, 2012

Kamille:

This week was interesting to say the least. I became sick unexpectedly. I had a serious headache that would not go away even when I took medication. Ultimately, the headache went away but it really dampened my spirits and attitude towards doing anything but sleep. My parents think that I was allergic to something I ate during the week. I don’t think so but possibly since I have been having unusual medical problems since I arrived.

Well to start off my journal last week my friends and I went to the Camden Market. The place is amazing!!! There is so much to see and taste. The market is a showcase for people to display their cultures and authentic one of a kind items to purchase. The Camden Market is huge! It would take the whole weekend to view everything the market has to offer. While I was there I was able to taste some delectable foods and purchase some quirky souvenirs.

There was a churro stand that made fresh churros with chocolate syrup and caramel sauce. Very tasty. Also I had a spinach, cheese and chicken wrap from a Turkish stand. Just heaven. This market is a place where I need to go every weekend. I know there are marvelous things to see. One downside is that it is very crowded. Sometimes you want to venture through the stalls and aisles without being pushed or shoved by others. That is something one has to get used to when you go to a popular area of London.

I think that I enjoy more exotic foods. While in London, I haven’t had as much fast food as I thought I would. I have only had Mcdonald’s once and Pizza three times. I really enjoy sushi and Thai food. So much that I walked an hour to a local sushi restaurant for some sushi. That is probably why I had a horrific headache this week too. But the sushi was amazing. I do miss soul food. Fried chicken, macaroni and cheese, greens, shrimp and grits, biscuits, food items that I realize I miss eating the most. Spelman’s fried chicken Wednesday has put me in a terrible state.

School is the same daunting task as every other week. I realize that I am tired of school because I have been in school since I was 2 years old. I would like to take a break but I know the career I want requires a lot of education and I do not want to postpone my life by staying in school longer. Also I know its harder to go back to school once you stop. I am glad that school is almost over. I have three more weeks until Easter break. A whole month off. A nice break from the academics.

As for research, my reaction failed. It is life as a researcher. My supervisor is stumped on why it did not work. He feels that some of the chemicals used hindered the results. So now we are looking into literature to figure out an alternative to correct the reaction. So this week in research has been pretty chill. Not much leg work just a lot of reading and small tests to see if the procedure can be carried out.

Life is good, my time in London is great! Talk to ya’ll later.

Shekiaya:

The best news of this week was definitely receiving my “midterm” quiz grade for Microeconomics. My first A in the UK! Let’s all rejoice! So excited after my marks for Differential and Integral Analysis were not what I thought they would be. I have another quiz at the end of the month for Microeconomics, so I look forward to studying just as hard for that exam as well. The great part about having this last exam is that it will cover most of the material that will be on the final. So I think it will be a chance to see how well I will do overall in the course. Speaking of final exams, our exam timetables were released this week. I have one final on May 10th, another on May 31st and the last on June 1st. I have to admit I was a little nervous about taking a vacation and then having to come back to exams, but the timing is perfect. The only thing I have to make sure I make time for is research.

The research course is pretty much wrapping up, but with that comes more work. These next two weeks I will just be “tidying up my code”, preparing for the presentation and writing my paper. I have gotten a lot of great advice for the presentation thus far as well. There’s also a seminar next Thursday on making presentations, so I’m hoping that will help me. I am very nervous about the presentation since it will be my very first of this kind. The presentation has to be 20 minutes long, which sounds like a long time, but as I have been practicing I’ve realized it isn’t very long at all.

In regard to campus involvement, at first I planned to volunteer with Queen Mary’s volunteering organization for next week’s Olympic-themed events. However, after looking at my schedule, and the fact that I have a session for my presentation on the same day as the volunteer event I wanted to help with, I realized I could not participate. It’s near the end of term so there probably won’t be very many volunteer opportunities left, so hopefully I’ll find some time to participate in some other activities. It’s so sad to see this semester fly by so quickly! But even though I’m sad to see things come to a close, I am very anxious to travel during spring break.

I am undecided as to what the complete “agenda” will be for the time we have off, but hopefully I will be able to go to most of the places I want to. Amsterdam is all booked and hopefully I’ll have Berlin, Prague and many others all finalized before the end of next week.

Overall, this week was fairly busy, but it seemed to go by very slowly. I attended the British Gas swimming trials on Wednesday morning, which was a cool experience. It was an event “hosted”, if you will, by Arcadia. I met a few other people from the program there so that was great too. The aquatic center is pretty impressive, but it did seem small. However, seeing that this was the first time I had ever attended a swim meet, I am not the best judge for that. I am really hoping to have a chance at volunteering within the actual stadium sometime. I missed the opportunity to sign up the first time, so I probably won’t be able to. Either way, I’m content with seeing the park outside my bedroom window J. There are only three weeks left in this term, and I plan to use them wisely!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

