Skip to content

Scholar Highlights For Week Ending August 9, 2013

October 1, 2013

scenary

Charmiah Amie

The experience was not something I take lightly. It was one of my goals when I started college to travel abroad and learn more in order to better myself, and now that this first cultural experience is over I don’t think I will be able to stop! I loved being able to travel and see new places and meet new people. It is constant learning and growth 24/7. I am very glad that I was not only able to gain international experience but I was able to grow within my field as well. I would recommend the GSTEM and DAADprograms to anyone.

Tayler Elam

I finally concluded my summer semester courses with a long week of finals and finishing my research.  This week has been full and stressful, but I managed to maximize my studying time to my best ability.  I have definitely seen a great improvement in myself academically while here.  I started off a little discouraged, but I have finished strong and I am definitely proud of the work I have done.  I have learned so much about tropical biology and conservation while being in Costa Rica.  It is my goal to try to incorporate some of the new conservative behaviors I have learned about into my everyday lifestyle once returning to the United States.  In terms of Tropical Biology, I have learned lots of new information about a field of biology that I was not so familiar with prior to arriving here.  Though I enjoyed myself, I still have major ambitions to pursue a career in human biology.

Tayler Elam

Tayler

Kalah Haley

This week was fortunately one of the best weeks in Australia. I went to the Gold Coast last weekend and was fortunate enough to be able to go this past weekend as well. This time I brought my friend Rita with me. We left Brisbane at around 12 noon and arrived in the Gold Coast at around 1 in the afternoon. We got done good at the local mall and my friends from the Gold Coast Church picked us up from the train station.

Kwan Rhea

We began the weekend with lectures from the OTS staff and a distinguished guest, Fred Kruger, regarding climate control and environmental pressures impacting South Africa. Although, the previous topics were not necessarily personal interests, I found myself immersed in my notebook. Strangely enough, each topic was relevant as it related to each of the deliverables due this week and a future career in global health.  Gaining adequate knowledge of various disciplines has contributed to a wholly understanding of global health in a broader context.

Ticara Wicks

This past week was probably the hardest. Not because of our deliverables, although that was a lot to handle, but because it was our last days together. Throughout the entire trip the TA’s/lecturers told us how unique our group was because we all got along so well and really became friends. I feel like the admission committee did a phenomenal job with diversifying the students in the program and I am so grateful for that.  It was truly a blessing to be able to meet everyone and I’m going to miss them. This week was also so exciting because we’ve been able to see so many animals. We saw 4 out of the 5 “Big Five”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

