Skip to content

Scholar Highlight for Week Ending November 22, 2014

April 30, 2015

Cheryl Triplett

On Tuesday Dr. Kovacs visited my laboratory at CSIRO and got a glimpse of the research of which I am conducting. Although most of the Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) had already been completed she was able to ask questions and see the actual PCR machine that my test were run on to obtain the results and data analysis. Dr. Kovacs and I then spent several hours in the afternoon creating the outline for my research paper and going over the key points of the Methods and Material sections of my paper. Dr. Kovacs and I discussed some of the major points that me paper needed to include such as; decide what you want to your readers to know. Why are you doing this? What do you want from the research? Sometimes pure curiosity will drive your research. Sometimes you will have a primary source such as a diary or a trunkful of family papers and simply want to find out more. It is essential to explore the sources and reasons that I have and formulate a central question or issue. Writing a paper is not something that I am very good at and I don’t like writing, I am surely more of a technical person which is why I love the sciences. The 20-40 page paper I am required to write will be a huge challenge for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

