Skip to content

Scholar Highlight for Week Ending October 9, 2015

January 14, 2016

 

Qaasimah Alexis Lang

I am finally beginning to notice the change in seasons here in Denmark. When I woke up for classes Monday morning, it was dark outside. It was only 630 but it was still dark. Biking down to catch the train, I was able to see the sunrise. It’s not only the lighting that has changed, the weather has changed as well. Now when I wake up it’s in the 30s and sometimes doesn’t get above 50 degrees all day. The wind has started blowing furiously too. I live right on the ocean, so I get a really cold breeze blowing in from the ocean. I’ve had to start wearing gloves when I bike, and now I bring a hat and scarf with me everywhere. Heating is definitely treated differently here. In America it seems we are obsessed with having perfect temperature indoors. Our thermostats can be set very precisely. Here the heat is either up very high or it is not on at all. Therefore I am always shedding layers. I’ve noticed that the Danish people around me do not seem to find the wild temperature variant strange. They sit on the train or indoors with heavy coats and scarves on when the heater is turned up to like 80. Another observation I’ve made, is that a lot of the trees here in Helsingør do not turn orange or red. The leaves stay green until they start dying, then they turn brown and fall off.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

