Skip to content

Scholar Highlights Week Ending July 1, 2016

July 12, 2016

Natasha Spence

This week I was able to go on a tour to the highlands. Specifically, we toured Fort Augustus where Loch Ness Locke is located.  While driving into the highlands, I was amazed by the beautiful scenery. There were mountains everywhere you turned. I was in awe to see people walking to go hike these huge mountains.

Spence.LocNess

On the weekdays, I am in the lab from 9:30am to 5:00 pm. At first, it was very hard to adjust being in the lab that long but now I don’t mind it at all. I feel like I am gaining so much more from this experience, not only culturally but also academically as well. Some of the techniques that I do in the lab are very similar to what I learned in my microbiology class at Spelman. This research allows me to get more experience and also to become more confident in the different microbiology techniques. For an example, I am now very good at gram staining, PCR, and DNA purification. These are techniques that I did not quite master while in my class at Spelman.  What I find the most interesting about my lab and research is being able to go to different water environments and take water samples. Once you plate different dilutions of your water sample onto a nutrient agar plate and incubate it, you will be able to see a wide variety of bacteria on your plate.

Spence.Waterfall

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

