Skip to content

Scholar Highlights Week Ending July 8, 2016

July 12, 2016

Natasha Spence

Another exciting day I had in Scotland was this Thursday July 7th.  My friends and I were able to attend the Beyoncé Concert. I was extremely shocked to see Beyoncé having such a strong fan base even in Scotland. It was held in Hampden Park in Glasgow. It only took us fifteen minutes from our apartment flats to the park. Beyoncé performed all her songs from her latest album Lemonade. She also played old songs from her previous albums such as “To the Left” and “Ring the alarm”. I was in awe at how powerful she was. What I thought was really breathtaking was her stopping her concert to acknowledge the lives lost in the United States. She asked the crowd for a moment of silence for the two men who recently died, Alton Sterling and Philando Castile. Also, her backdrop showed several names of different black lives that were lost to police brutality.

Spence in the Valley

I was so thankful that she brought awareness to the people of Scotland. At that moment I was overwhelmed by several feelings. I was elated to be in a different country at a Beyoncé concert but I also felt discomfort knowing that being black in America is still seen as a crime to others. I was sad knowing that black people still have to fight for their freedom.

Spence Arms wide open

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

