Skip to content

Scholar Highlights Week Ending July 15, 2016

July 19, 2016

Natasha Spence

In my lab I found a very cool bacteria known as Chromobacterium violaceum. It produces a natural antibiotic called violacein, which may be useful for the treatment of colon and other cancers. I found this bacterium in the water sample retrieved from the Kelvin River. With this bacteria, I can test to see how it affects other bacteria I find. The other water samples I retrieved are from Lochness River, Kelvin Grove fountain and Kelvin duck pond. It was interesting to see the hundreds of bacteria that came from each water sample.

This weekend, I was able to go to the highland games. The highland games consist of running, cycling, wrestling, tug o war, tossing the caber, weight over the bar, throwing the hammer, ball and weight, and highland dancing. I did not know what majority of the games were, but they seemed very intense.

Highland House

After the highland games, we went to a place called the Hill House. It was located on a hill in Helensburgh over looking the River Clyde. The Hill house is known to be Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s finest domestic creation. It showed a mix of Arts and craft, Scottish Baronial and Japanese architecture and design. Much of the house was restored to look exactly how it did in 1904, when its first residents moved in.

Overall, I am enjoying my stay in Glasgow Scotland. I am making some really good friends and I am learning a lot of techniques in the lab that I may need for the future. I hope for the remaining two weeks, I continue to grow as a person and to continue experiencing new things. I am so thankful for this opportunity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

