Skip to content

Scholar Highlights Week Ending July 22, 2016

July 27, 2016

Once I arrived in Paris, I was in complete awe. Paris was everything I imagined and more. The first thing we did once we arrived to Paris was check into our hotel. I was amazed when driving from the train station to our hotel. Everywhere I turned there was something exciting to see. The first site I saw with my eyes was the Eiffel tower. The view was breathtaking. I’ve always seen the Eiffel tower in movies and television but in person it was completely different. I also was able to see the Arc de Triomphe and the Notre-Dame Cathedral.One of the friends I made was nice enough to show us all the areas that were popular during the night. What shocked me the most about Paris was how diverse the people were. In a way, it reminded me of New York in a sense of how populated the area is and also how both cities are melting pots of different people.                                                         Spence arms wide open two

The next day, we woke up early to tour all the city. We purchased a pass for the double decker bus called a “hop off hop on”. Essentially this bus took you to all the tourist areas in Paris. We sat on the top of the bus where we were able to see everything. There was also a tour guide who talked about the history of Paris. One of our stops was the Musee du Louvre. This landmark, which once was a fort and then a palace, is now the world’s largest art museum and many also regard it as the best. In the museum, they had the famous “Mona Lisa” paining. Hundreds of people were crowded around the picture and it was very hard to get a chance to view it. There were also other beautiful pictures and sculptures such as the Venus de Milo and Victory of Samothrace. After we finished with the museum we went back to the bus where we were able to see the Champs Elysées.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

