Skip to content

Scholar Highlights Week Ending July 29, 2016

August 2, 2016

Natasha Spence

This week is my last week in Glasgow Scotland. The feeling is very bitter sweet. I am really excited to go home but I am really going to miss it here. This week was very stressful because this was the week when our final projects were due. I had to present my research Wednesday 27th which was my birthday. That day we listened to presentations from 9:30 all the way to 4:00pm. I was really nervous to present my project but everything turned out well. My research was basically on Viruses and Bacteria in Freshwater environments. I was able to find many pathogenic bacteria in the water sources in Scotland. They were found In The River Kelvin, Loch Ness, Kelvin Grove fountain and Jenny Pond. One of the bacteria’s that I found in the Kelvin River that was interesting was Chromobacterium violaceum. It is a gram-negative rod that is found in the soil and water of subtropical areas. What makes this bacterium interesting is that it produces a natural antibiotic known as violacein. Violacein may be useful for treatments of the Colon and also other types of Cancer.

Spence.Cathedral

Overall, I had an amazing experience here in Glasgow. I feel that I have grown in so many ways and learned so much. I have become more independent compared to when I am at home. Here I am responsible for everything I do. I had to cook, clean, and find transportation for myself. I hope that when I go home, I can keep this independent lifestyle up. I am truly blessed to be able to travel out the country. I know that everyone is not as blessed to have this opportunity.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

